Paris opens metro extension to Orly Airport

Expansion details and new stations

Extension Overview

The extension of Line 14 now connects 21 stations across 27 kilometres from north to south in the Île-de-France. The expansion significantly strengthens the metro network by adding 14 kilometres in the south and 1.7 kilometres in the north.

List of new stations

The newly opened stations on Line 14 are as follows:

  • Saint-Denis Pleyel
  • White House
  • Bicetre Hospital
  • Villejuif-G. Roussy
  • Les Les Roses
  • Chevilly LaRue
  • Thie Orly
  • Orly Airport

All stations are operational except for Villejuif-Gustave Roussy, which is scheduled to open in January 2025.

Enhanced Connectivity

Integration with existing transport services

The expanded Route 14 will provide seamless connections to a variety of transit services, improving accessibility throughout the region. Connections include:

  • RER lines: A, B, C, D, E
  • Tram lines: T7, 3a, 3b
  • Subway lines: 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13
  • Train lines: H, J, L, R

Furthermore, the line will be connected to metro lines 15, 16, 17 and 18 in future, further integrating the network.

Strategic importance

The extension marks a major step towards improving public transport, providing an efficient connection for both daily commuters and international travellers who use Orly Airport. The extended line is expected to ease traffic congestion and provide a faster, more reliable alternative to road travel.

Future outlook

the next deployment

Most of the new stations are already open, with Villejuif-Gustave Roussy scheduled to open in January 2025. This final extension will complete the expansion, further improving accessibility and convenience for passengers.

Impact on mobility

The new extension is expected to significantly increase passenger numbers, facilitate mobility across the region, promote sustainable travel and support the growing transport needs of the Île-de-France.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *